Register Today: On-site Admissions Fair on June 5, 12, 26 CLICK TO REGISTER

Richard Bland College

RBC Honors High-Achieving Students & Faculty

Richard Bland College of William & Mary recently honored students and faculty in a combined Academic Excellence Awards and Phi Theta Kappa International Honors Society virtual ceremony.

Ten students earned Academic Excellence Awards. Selected by faculty members in each discipline of study, Academic Award recipients are students who have excelled and demonstrated academic promise in each subject area.

Academic Award recipients included: Kathleen Rhue Brakefield (Life Science), Joseph S. King (Physical Science), Sage Ginter (Math & Computer Science), Barry Ashton Tudor (Business & Economics), Sierra Johson (Psychology & Sociology / Communications), Grace Beverly (History & Government), Ibrahim Bucha (Philosophy & Religion), Jason Kellerhalls (Foreign Language), and JahLisa Brown (English).

The 2020 Faculty Excellence Award, based on nominations received from students, was presented to Dr. Timothy Rohrbach, Assistant Professor of Biology.

“Scholarship is the heart and soul of the College’s mission,” said Richard Bland College President Debbie Sydow. “We are immensely proud of each award recipient and enthusiastic about where their academic pursuits will lead them in the future.”

Students who earn a 3.5 grade point average or higher during the academic year are eligible for induction into the Alpha Beta Omicron Chapter of PTK, which specifically honors Richard Bland students. The College now boasts 117 PTK members.

The newest PTK inductees are: Kathleen Rhue Brakefield (Colonial Heights HS), James Corrigan (Prince George HS), Tailor Duhart (Harker Heights H.S./Harker Heights, Texas), Peter Gerges (Colonial Heights HS), Grace Gouyer (Midlothian H.S.), Seungho Han (Peniel HS/Republic of Korea), Madison Kelley (Turner Ashby HS/Mount Crawford), Hyun Soo Kim (Chang-Hyun High School/Republic of Korea), Brooke Loving (Prince George HS), Seth McCoun (Dinwiddie HS), Jenna Miles (Prince George), Seth Moore (Dinwiddie HS), Divya Patel (Thomas Dale HS), Mackenzie Somerville (Beaverton HS/Beaverton, Oregon), Ti Su (LeiChuan Waldorf School/Taiwan), Samantha Taylor (Mills E. Godwin HS), Rylan Williams (Colonial Forge HS).





Launch Experience

Ready to Create Your Journey?