Richard Bland College
Virtual Tour Apply

Subcommittees

Curriculum, Co-Curriculum & Mobility


Charges:

  • Review case studies on Guided Pathways at other institutions; research realistic ways to include career readiness in the curriculum.
  • Survey 200 current, 100 past (graduated no earlier than 2016), and 100 prospective students to ask which micro-credentials they prefer as part of Guided Pathways to Success. (Partnership Subcommittee to survey employers).
  • Survey faculty to ask which micro-credentials they can integrate into their courses as part of Guided Pathways to Success.
  • Recommend a plan for the development and implementation of Guided Pathways to Success; include specific meta-majors and pathways in the recommendation.
  • Complete the subcommittee’s assigned portion of the self-study assessment.

Curriculum, Co-Curriculum & Mobility

Thom C. Addington

Thom C. Addington

Director of Student Success
Library First Floor, Room 105
804-862-6100 ext. 6270
taddington@rbc.edu

Co-Chair

Jason Pode

Jason Pode

Assistant Professor of Mathematics
McNeer, Room 127
(804) 862-6100, ext. 8542
jpode@rbc.edu

Co-chair

Dr. Tiffany Birdsong

Dr. Tiffany Birdsong

Director of Academics
Ernst Hall 126
(804) 862-6100 ext. 6267
tbirdsong@rbc.edu

Dana Davis

Dana Davis

Virtual Registrar

804-862-6100, ext. 6247
dldavis@rbc.edu

Jason Pode

Jason Pode

Assistant Professor of Mathematics
McNeer, Room 127
(804) 862-6100, ext. 8542
jpode@rbc.edu

Faculty & Staff Support


Charges

  • Survey faculty and staff on professional development, focusing on what is needed to best support learner success.
  • Conduct a SWOT analysis of current professional development policies, employment models, load distribution, and compensation for employees across campus.
  • Recommend a plan for assessing professional development offerings and policies on a regular basis, focusing on what is needed to best support learner success.
  • Create an implementation plan for faculty and staff support, focusing on learner success.
  • Complete the subcommittee’s assigned portion of the self-study assessment.

Faculty & Staff Support

Dr. Timothy Rohrbach

Dr. Timothy Rohrbach

Assistant Professor of Biology
McNeer 133
804-862-6100, ext. 6202
trohrbach@rbc.edu

Co-chair

Dr. Adam Zucconi

Dr. Adam Zucconi

Assistant Professor of History, Faculty Assembly Chair
Ernst Hall 134
(804) 862-6100, ext. 8553
azucconi@rbc.edu

Co-chair

Brian C. Roethel

Brian C. Roethel

Technical Support Manager
STAC McNeer 110
(804) 862-6119
broethel@rbc.edu

Cassandra Standberry

Cassandra Standberry

Director of Human Resources & Chief Diversity Officer
Pecan Hall, Room 204
(804) 862-6100 ext. 6208
cstandberry@RBC.EDU

Dr. Daniel Zelinski

Dr. Daniel Zelinski

Professor of Philosophy & Religion
SSHE, Room 135
(804) 862-6100, ext. 6494
dzelinski@rbc.edu

Leadership & Structure


Charges

  • Assess RBC’s infrastructure for providing and implementing learner success initiatives, including career readiness, that meet learners’ diverse needs.
  • Complete a gap analysis to determine where improvement is needed to have “high-touch, intensive, student-centric support across the College” as prescribed in Seize Your Potential.
  • Evaluate the student onboarding experience at RBC to determine what changes are needed to make this process easy to navigate.
  • Partner with ACE-LSL Advisors to review RBC’s organizational structure and systems and make recommendations.
  • Complete the subcommittee’s assigned portion of the self-study assessment.
  • Collect data from early transfers and non-conversion students regarding their decision to not enroll at RBC.

Leadership & Structure

Dr.  Alice Henton

Dr. Alice Henton

Assistant Professor of English
Ernst Hall A130
804-862-6100, ext. 8552
ahenton@rbc.edu

Co-chair

Navelle Watkins

Navelle Watkins

Head Residence Life Coordinator
Freedom Hall, Suite 104
804-863-1653
nwatkins@rbc.edu

Co-chair

Dana Davis

Dana Davis

Virtual Registrar

804-862-6100, ext. 6247
dldavis@rbc.edu

Kyle Dobry

Kyle Dobry

Lead Admissions Counselor
Pecan Hall, Office 219
(804) 862-6100 x8584
kdobry@rbc.edu

Ashley Fuller

Ashley Fuller

Assistant Professor of Mathematics
McNeer, Room 139
804-862-6100, ext. 8612
afuller@rbc.edu

Shelly Gresham

Shelly Gresham

Application Support Specialist
McNeer Hall
(804) 863-1667
sgresham@rbc.edu




Scott Newton

Scott Newton

Director of Student Life and Athletics
Statesman Hall
(804) 862-6250
snewton@rbc.edu

Cassandra Standberry

Cassandra Standberry

Director of Human Resources & Chief Diversity Officer
Pecan Hall, Room 204
(804) 862-6100 ext. 6208
cstandberry@RBC.EDU

Dr. Daniel Zelinski

Dr. Daniel Zelinski

Professor of Philosophy & Religion
SSHE, Room 135
(804) 862-6100, ext. 6494
dzelinski@rbc.edu

Mia Register

Mia Register

Financial Aid Counselor
Ernst Hall
(804) 862-6100, ext. 8555
mregister@rbc.edu

Melissa Mahoney

Melissa Mahoney

Assistant Controller
Maze Hall, Room 207
804-862-6261
mmahoney@rbc.edu

Partnerships


Charges

  • ​​​​​​​Review current RBC partnerships and provide a SWOT analysis of each partnership and implementation at RBC; recommend a plan for regular assessment of each partnership.
  • Work with community partners to better understand and meet local workforce demands in the Tri-Cities*, Dinwiddie, Prince George, and Chesterfield communities.
  • Survey employers in the Tri-Cities*, Dinwiddie, Prince George, and Chesterfield communities to determine labor market and community needs.
  • Survey employers to ask which micro-credentials they prefer as part of Guided Pathways for Success (GSP@RBC). (Curriculum, Co-Curriculum, & Mobility Subcommittee to survey students)
  • Engage at least 200 alumni in a conversation about how they want to support our current students; recommend a plan for implementing this support.
  • Complete the subcommittee’s assigned portion of the self-study assessment.

*Tri-Cities: Petersburg, Colonial Heights, Hopewell    

Partnerships

Sharon Rauch

Sharon Rauch

Director, Global Student Success Program
Library
804-862-6100, ext. 8587
Sharon.Rauch@rbcglobal.com

Co-chair

Dr. Eric Earnhardt

Dr. Eric Earnhardt

Assistant Professor of English, Languages & Humanities Chair
Ernst Hall 133
(804) 862-6100, ext. 8585
eearnhardt@rbc.edu

Co-chair

Ashley Fuller

Ashley Fuller

Assistant Professor of Mathematics
McNeer, Room 139
804-862-6100, ext. 8612
afuller@rbc.edu

J. Tyler Hart

J. Tyler Hart

Provost
Maze Hall, Room 107
804-862-6274
jhart@rbc.edu

Dr. Linda Fischer Pittman

Dr. Linda Fischer Pittman

Professor of Geography & Religion
McNeer, Room 231
(804) 862-6100, ext. 6160
lpittman@rbc.edu

Stacey Sokol

Stacey Sokol

Director of Online and Continuing Education
Maze Hall, Room 110
(804) 862-6100, ext. 8603
ssokol@rbc.edu

  • Victor Branch, RBC Committee Chair; W&M Board of Visitors
  • Danielle Fitz-Hugh, President Chesterfield Chamber of Commerce
  • Becky McDonough, CEO Hopewell/Prince George Chamber of Commerce
  • Dr. Dawit Haile, Dean and Professor, College of Engineering and Technology, Virginia State University
Launch Experience

Ready to Create Your Journey?